Global Health Resources

Source: Economist Intelligence Unit (sponsored by Corteva Agriscience™)
Index of food security issues related to affordability, availability, and quality across 113 countries. The index is a dynamic quantitative and qualitative benchmarking model constructed from 59 unique indicators that measure the drivers of food security across both developing and developed countries.

Source: International Household Survey Network
An informal network of international agencies that share and catalog household surveys from countries around the world.

Source: International Monetary Fund
An organization of 190 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Search by Country to locate country news, reports, and data.

Source: World Bank
Free and open access to global development data.

Source: Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
Provides an overview of findings from the Global Burden of Disease (GBD). Findings are based on over 80,000 different data sources. Estimates from the GBD study may differ from national statistics due to differences in data sources and methodology.

Source: U.S. Agency for International Development
Results from DHS surveys on health and population in developing countries.
Areas of Interest: Anemia; Child Health; Domestic Violence; Education; Environmental Health; Family Planning; Female Genital Cutting; Fertility and Fertility Preferences; Gender/Domestic Violence; HIV/AIDS Knowledge, Attitudes, and Behavior; HIV Prevalence; Household and Respondent Characteristics;
Infant and Child Mortality; Malaria; Maternal Health; Maternal Mortality; Nutrition; Tobacco Use; Unmet Need for family planning; Wealth; and Women's Empowerment.

Source: World Health Organization: International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC).
An interactive web-based platform presenting global cancer statistics to inform cancer control and cancer research. The platform focuses on the visualization of cancer indicators to illustrate the changing scale, epidemiological profile, and impact of the disease worldwide.

Source: Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation at the University of Washington.
Catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data.

Source: World Health Organization
Portal for providing access to data and analyses for monitoring global health worldwide. Provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.

Source: United Nations Development Programme
Human development data from around the world. Includes data on health; education; income/composition of resources; inequality; gender; poverty; work, employment, and vulnerability; human security; trade and financial flows; mobility and communication; environment sustainability; demography; and socio-economic sustainability.

Source: World Health Organization
Provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. Material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform.

Source: World Bank
Provides key health, nutrition, and population statistics gathered from a variety of international and national sources. Themes include global surgery, health financing, HIV/AIDS, immunization, infectious diseases, medical resources and usage, noncommunicable diseases, nutrition, population dynamics, reproductive health, universal health coverage, and water and sanitation.

Source: Commonwealth Fund
Overviews of the health care systems of Australia, Canada, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Israel, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States.

Source: U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
The diplomatic voice of the Department of Health and Human Services. Fosters critical global relationships, coordinates international engagement across HHS and the U.S. government, and provides leadership and expertise in global health diplomacy and policy.

Source: World Health Organization (WHO)
Brief fact sheets of basic population, health information, and mortality statistics for WHO member countries.

A joint initiative between the World Health Organisation (WHO) and the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) to store regionally-generated biomedical information.

A public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety, and hygiene. Includes grey literature and material not included in other databases.

Source: United Nations Development Programme
Provides downloads of over 150 global indicators and composite indices for over 190 countries in CSV and PDF. This page also provides documentation and methodologies, FAQ’s, API access, and other key information.

Social science data archive including datasets on health. Browse by topic or geography.

Institutional Repository for Information Sharing set up by World Health Organization (WHO).

Database of health sciences literature published in Latin American & Caribbean countries since 1982. Covers 670 of the most well-known biomedical journals and other documents, including theses, books, books chapters, conference proceedings, technical and scientific reports, and governmental publications

The World Health Organization manages and maintains a wide range of data collections related to global health and well-being as mandated by our Member States.

Free and open access to global development data. Can search by country, topic (e.g. health), or indicator (e.g. mortality rate).