Skip to Main Content

Check It Out: Information on Borrowing

Whether you've just arrived at UHSP or are new to using the Library, this guide covers all the basics. Learn about your library account, borrowing information, fines & fees, the UHSP collection, and how you can suggest items for purchase.

Books

Our collections include...

General Collection

Our largest collection of books, the majority of these books can be checked out by our users and requested by outside users through MOBIUS.

  • Checkout length: 4 weeks

  • Late fee: 50¢ per day

Leisure Reading

Includes current bestsellers, popular fiction and non-fiction, mysteries, science fiction and fantasy, self-help books, and more.

  • Checkout length: 4 weeks

  • Late fee: 50¢ per day

Reference

Encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries.

  • Checkout length: Library Use Only*
    • *Faculty & Staff may check out items for short loans with approval from library staff
Yearbooks

Copies of Prescripto, the St. Louis College of Pharmacy yearbook (1930-2017)

  • Checkout length: Library Use Only

Library Use Only

Certain collections in the Library are for Library Use Only and may not be checked out.

These items include:

  • Archives materials (including books, journals, pamphlets, etc. )

  • Books with the location UHSP Noncirculating or the status Lib Use Only*

  • Microfilm & Microfiche

  • Newspapers & magazines

  • Print and bound journals

  • Reference books*

Please feel free to use these items in the library or copy articles/selected pages as needed. 

Faculty & Staff may check out Reference or Library Use Only materials with the approval of Library Staff.