Several of our databases provide text-to-speech capabilities. In other words, they allow users to listen to an audio version of an article or e-book. Note that this option is not available for every article, only those with HTML full text.
Articles and abstracts are usually available as either a PDF or in HTML format. HTML articles can be read by read-aloud software very easily, while PDFs can present some issues. PDF accessibility depends on how the articles were scanned. In some cases, security features (to prevent the document from being altered) may interfere with PDF accessibility.
Locate an article/chapter in HTML format that you would like to listen to
Look for the Listen button (each database places it in a different location)
Click to begin listening to the article.
After you click on Listen, the tool's playback options are displayed.
Adobe Reader and Adobe Acrobat both have a read-aloud feature. To turn the read-aloud feature on in PCs:
Open the PDF.
Go to the View option at the top of the screen, select Read Out Loud, then scroll down to the last option listed called, Activate Read Out Loud.
Click on the screen to begin reading.
The Library has one copy of every REQUIRED textbook and most recommended books on Course Reserve. These books are shelved behind the Library Services Desk and can be checked out for 2 hours.
We know you may not be able to read a whole section or chapter in 2 hours. Library staff will happily help you scan pages or let you take pictures for your personal use.
Copyright Notice:
Under the fair use doctrine of the U.S. copyright statute, it is permissible to use limited portions of a work including quotes, for purposes such as commentary, criticism, news reporting, and scholarly reports.
Fair use includes copying a non-substantial amount of copyright work for private research or study; and using copyright material for criticism, review, and news reporting. This means that as a student you can scan/copy a journal article or sections from a book, as long as it is for your own private use.
There is no defined amount on how much you are allowed to copy - the law simply says 'non-substantial' and 'fair', but this is not defined. Half of a book would be substantial, one chapter would not. Obviously, copying an entire book or journal to save buying it would not be fair!
Pharmacy education resource that allows users to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, take practice quizzes, prep with NAPLEX Central, or search across leading pharmacy references. Includes a large eBook collection.
Create a free "MyAccess profile" to save content, set up alerts, and track your self-assessment progress.
Collection of more than 177,000 eBooks. All titles can be viewed online, and most can be downloaded. Colelctions iclude the Academic Collection, Community College Collection, Public Library Collection, Clinical Collection, High School Collection, K-8 Collection, and the Education Collection.
Visit our EBSCO eBook Tutorial
Collection of pharmacy eBooks, NAPLEX review, active learning exercises, Preceptor Central, case studies, and links to pharmacy news.
Collection of eBooks. Includes Handbook on Injectable Drugs, Stahl’s Essential Psychopharmacology, and Trissel’s Stability of Compounded Formulations. EBMCalc and Stedman’s Medical Dictionary are available under “Tools & Features”.
Search by course name (ex: Global, biol1111, Therapeutics...) or instructor.
Stop by the Library Service Desk to check out one of our assorted stims/fidgets. Fidgets check out for 2 hours and are disinfected after each use.
The Library has two printers that you can release your print jobs from
If you forgot your computer in your room or at home, use one of our 2 public access computers. You can print from these computers if you sign in with your UHSP login.
We know you may not be able to read a whole section or chapter in 2 hours. Library staff will happily help you scan pages or let you take pictures for your personal use. The Library has one copy of every REQUIRED textbook and most recommended books on Course Reserve. These books are shelved behind the Library Services Desk and can be checked out for 2 hours.
Under the fair use doctrine of the U.S. copyright statute, it is permissible to use limited portions of a work including quotes, for purposes such as commentary, criticism, news reporting, and scholarly reports.
Fair use includes copying a non-substantial amount of copyright work for private research or study; and using copyright material for criticism, review, and news reporting. This means that as a student you can scan/copy a journal article or sections from a book, as long as it is for your private use.
There is no defined amount on how much you are allowed to copy - the law simply says 'non-substantial' and 'fair', but this is not defined. Half of a book would be substantial, one chapter would not. Copying an entire book or journal to save buying it would not be fair!
Whether you forgot your laptop cord, iPhone charger, or Andriod charger, we got you covered. You can check out any of the following items from the library.
Laptop Cord (Lenovo and Fujitsu)
iPhone charger
Andriod charger
Headphones
Keyboard
Make yourself comfortable in one of our 9 study rooms. Our study rooms can be reserved for 1 3-hour reservation per day. Each study room is equipped with a monitor for screen sharing and dry-erase walls.
When you check out your study room key, you can also check out a dry-erase kit, an HMDI cord to connect your laptop to the screen, a laptop charging cord, and a charger for your phone.
9 reservable study rooms & 1 walk-in room
3-hour reservations (1 reservation per person, per day)
Available when the Library Services Desk is open
See library hours for specific times
No reservation deadline!
Reservations can be made up to 14 days in advance
Research Assistance
Help locate and retrieve library material from the collection
Printing, scanning, and/or photocopying assistance
Individual consultations
Whether you have a quick question, are having trouble with a library resource, or need help with research we can help!
Select from a quick appointment or a longer 30-minute research appointment. Librarians are available to meet in person or via Teams, Monday-Friday from 9 am - 5 pm.
We created guides to help you successfully use our library resources. View just a few of our guides below.