For highly specific information (just make sure you have a good background understanding of your topic)
For the most recent or "cutting-edge" information available
As an excellent source of historical information
Also, articles usually include bibliographies, which can lead you to additional information on a topic.
Articles are available from many different types of publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, technical reports, trade journals, etc.
Journals are periodicals, newspapers, or magazines that contain articles on a particular subject or professional activity. They are usually published by a special group, society, or professional organization. If you are looking for information from a certain source or with a specific focus, you may want to search with a specific journal.
Databases are indexes that allow you to search multiple journals, at the same time. You can use databases to find articles from journals, newspapers, and magazines (periodicals). In a multidisciplinary or subject-specific database, you can search by article author, title, or keyword.
Use databases when you want to research a topic from multiple sources.
Even librarians use Wikipedia, but we don't use it as our only source of information. We go to Wikipedia to get a better understanding of a topic that we may not have much knowledge about. Wikipedia may be our first stop but it is definitely not our only stop in the research process.
While it is possible to find quality information, including articles, using Google Scholar, please remember:
The Databases available through the UHSP Library have more comprehensive search tools and can provide better, more specific results.
Google Scholar often provides relevant citations but is often missing the full-text of articles. You may even be asked to pay for an article that we have available to you for FREE through the Library.